From anti-depressants to anti-psychotics

“36% of people were found to have been prescribed more than the maximum recommended dose of anti-psychotic medicines.”

..says the Prescribing Observatory for Mental Health.

Posted by: Eleanor

2 responses to “From anti-depressants to anti-psychotics

  1. Doesn’t this add some credence to what I’ve been saying about mental health patients being left on their own too often after their initial diagnosis? When I was first prescribed Lithium, it’s my understanding now, the idea was “we’ll give you a mega-dose, then decrease it through blood tests and behavioural evidence until we find an ideal dose”. But then, of course, I went manic, thought I was cured and took off for eighteen years of unmedicated hijinks which, I’m sure, American Sitcom TV execs will be calling soon to secure the rights for.

  2. “eighteen years of unmedicated hijinks which, I’m sure, American Sitcom TV execs will be calling soon to secure the rights for.” – that made me laugh.

    Yes – you are right – it’s quite a scary percentage.

Leave a Reply

